Dissertation on Conlangs

Started by evegwood, February 20, 2015, 09:08:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

evegwood

Hello! I'm a linguistics student writing my dissertation on the factors that contribute to the success of a constructed language. As well as looking at conlangs created to overcome language barriers (like Esperanto and Volapük), I'm researching conlangs made for movies, books and games: Quenya, Dovahzul, Klingon and, obviously, Na'vi. I figured this would be the best place to talk to people who are investing their time in learning the latter!

If any of you would be happy to answer a couple of questions, I'd really appreciate it. Your responses will be completely anonymous, but please indicate somewhere in your reply that you give permission for me to use what you say. If you could also include your age and gender, that would be very helpful, but not necessary. You don't have to answer all the questions if you don't want to.

• Do you know/speak any other conlangs apart from Na'vi?
  • How fluent in Na'vi are you? (know a couple of words/speak at a basic level/speak quite well/fluent)
  • Why did you choose to start learning Na'vi, other than enjoying Avatar?
  • Where do you use Na'vi, both online and offline?
  • How do you feel about community additions to the language, such as non-canon vocabulary or grammatical structures?
  • Is it important for you that the community's form of Na'vi is as accurate to the canon as possible?
  • Do you think Na'vi is easy to learn?

If there's anything else you'd like to mention about your experiences with Na'vi or conlangs in general please don't hesitate to do so! If you would be more comfortable messaging me privately please feel free to send me a PM. Thanks so much!

Stranger Come Knocking

1. Dothraki, High Valyrian, Astapori Valyrian, Quenya, and a myriad of my own conlangs.
2. I would say basic-intermediate.
3. I love languages.
4. Online, here.  Offline, in letters.