Grammar questions

Started by ìleyu Seze, February 02, 2010, 06:33:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ìleyu Seze

Kaltxì everyone! I just started learning Na'vi, and I have a few questions.
So far I've seen two different words for 'and' (sì and ulte) and I wanted to know if you could use either one, or if there's a special rule for which one use in a particular sentence. And the word aytsmuktu has been bugging me. I know ay- is the plural marker and tsmukan is brother/tsmuke is sister, so my guess is it means siblings, but I want to make sure. I was also wondering if there are any words for 'of' or 'about', because I didn't see those in the dictionary?
Irayo frapo!
"All energy is only borrowed and one day you have to give it back."

DrBinder

Aytsmuktu is incorrect. Recall your lesson on lenition: When using ay to make a word plural, if the word starts with either t or ts, then it's just converted to s. In this case, the correct word is "Aysmuktu."

...as for "of" and "about," you would use the topical marker -ri. Example:
Oe-ri tukru lu lehrrap
"(For me) The spear is dangerous."
You use the topical marker to indicate the topic of something, and has the rough english equivalent to "as for ___," but used much more frequently in Na'vi.

...all this and more are covered in the Crash Course on Linguistic Terminology- highly recommended, here: http://www.learnnavi.org/docs/Linguistic-terminology-crash-course.pdf

As for the two forms of and, someone get a grammar nazi in here- I haven't gotten around to studying that part yet.

OK, I've gotten word on the two: Sì is used to connect words together, and Ulte is used to connect clauses. For instance: If you were making a list (I ate this AND that), you would use sì. If you are making two individual points (I love to play soccer, AND I like to play football), you would use Ulte.

...any grammar nazis available to either solidify or yell at me with the correction? Please do if I'm wrong here.

ìleyu Seze