having a lot of difficulty learning.. :/

Started by Neyn'ite Te Tsahìk Txeptsyìp'ite, March 05, 2011, 07:09:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Neyn'ite Te Tsahìk Txeptsyìp'ite

oe omum that the language is difficult in the first place.... but :-\

the reason I haven't been on the boards for the last few days is because I'm doing other things but I'm studying Na'vi as much as I can but I can't seem to get it down. it's mostly lenition, pronunciation- I know tx, kx, ulte px, and I've been practicing rr- as well as sentence order/structure. :(
old gallery link?id=2025[/img]

oel ayngati kameie, ma aysmukan sì aysmuke, Eywa ayngahu.
oeyä tsmukan, ma Nick, oeru ngaytxoa livu. nìmwey tsurokx. nga yawne lu oer.

Stranger Come Knocking

I'm sorry.  Well, I won't pretend to know everything about learning a language, but I might be able to give you a few tips on what to tackle first. :)

1. Basic phrases (This way you have a very basic vocabulary and understanding.)
2. Simple sentences (things that don't take an object)
3. Basic sentences (things that take only an object)
4. Basic sentences with adj. (for some variety in your lexicon)
5. More complex sentences w/ indirect objects :P

It won't launch you from the Beginners to the nìNa'vi nì'aw overnight, but I figure it covers the basics.

Oh, and make sure to vary your vocabulary.  Reading and writing a book is great, but ultimately, there is more to do in life.  ;)

And if you are past all of this, then...have a cookie. *gives cookie*
I will not die for less
I dug my grave in this
Will I go before I fall
Or live to slight the odds?

These are my books.  You should check it out.  Speculative sci-fi murder mystery historical fiction.

Alyara Arati

All of those are great tips.  The only thing I'll add is: don't be afraid to make mistakes! :)  It seems like half of what I know I learned from making mistakes and getting corrected; you learn to love it. :D
Learn how to see.  Realize that everything connects to everything else.