Question about "ma" before the name.

Started by neytiri.blue, October 11, 2010, 06:22:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

neytiri.blue

I received a private message from a fellow Na'vi and I noticed that she wrote,

Kaltxì ma Neytiri -

I've noticed "ma" being placed infront of many names through out the board. When I first look at it, I think of french and how it is the feminine version of "my"...and with no association to French, I figured this was a way of being nice and sort of saying "sister Neytiri" or "friend Neytiri" - a way to be nice. But perhaps I am wrong it is a grammar rule.

I am very new to Na'vi and I honestly just got back to school yesterday and I haven't had a chance to look over the handbooks, but perhaps someone would not mind explaining this custom to me.

Thanks  ;D

Amaya

"ma" before the name is a politeness.  The closest version in English would be "o neytiri", kindof archaeic and formal.  Basically it's nothing like "my" and only used for adressing someone directly. :D

wm.annis

Quote from: Amaya on October 11, 2010, 06:25:02 PM
"ma" before the name is a politeness.  The closest version in English would be "o neytiri", kindof archaeic and formal.  Basically it's nothing like "my" and only used for adressing someone directly. :D

It is not actually related to politeness.  It's what linguists call a "vocative" — when saying the name or title of someone you are speaking to, their name is put in a special form.  In Na'vi, that means the word ma goes before it.  English just uses the bare name for this, so we've had fun trying to come up with a way to explain it.  If you use twitter, it's sort of like the "@" sign — it names the person you are addressing.

Some vocatives:

Hey, Bob, did you see the game last night?!
  Learn to drive, moron!
  Friends, Romans, Countrymen, lend me your ears.

neytiri.blue

Quote from: wm.annis on October 11, 2010, 06:29:46 PM