Windows 8 (Not Beta)

Started by Kekerusey, September 23, 2012, 07:01:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kekerusey

So is anyone else running on Windows 8 (not just the beta version)?

I have MS Technet which is so worth £200/year for a family of 4 all of whom have their own PC's (and several laptops) but as much as anything for the fact that I work in IT (server deployment).

I bought a 240GB SSD this week (so I could fall back to my 120GB with Win 7 if necessary) & rebuilt my system with Windows 8 and Office 2013 (preview) ... so far not bad and I'm learning all the time. It was quite difficult to get the thing to activate and then to join my domain. I quite like the "glossy" feel to it but the "start bar" is irritating and I'm find it quite difficult (as in two many actions to get to) things like control panel and so on. Even shutdown seems to be a challenge (no. of clicks-wise) so for now I've created a "shutdown.cmd" file which (obviously) shuts the thing down.

One utility I use (CPU-Z) completely locked the system. Drivers are a bit of a problem but, niggles about ease-of-use aside, mostly it's quite cool!

Keke
Kekerusey (Not Dead [Undead])
"Keye'ung lu nì'aw tì'eyng mì-kìfkey lekye'ung :)"
Geekanology, UK Atheist &
The "Science, Just Science" Campaign (A Cobweb)

Tsanten Eywa 'eveng

I have heard that they have now released a full version of Windows 8

I really wanna try out W8

But, is Windows 8 a very complicated OS?

I have heard many is complaining on Windows 8

Kekerusey

Quote from: Tsanten Eywa 'eveng on September 23, 2012, 11:35:47 AMI have heard that they have now released a full version of Windows 8

Guess so since I could download it from Technet ... not being sarcastic there, I am assuming exactly that since I wasn't even aware it had been launched until a couple of days ago.

Quote from: Tsanten Eywa 'eveng on September 23, 2012, 11:35:47 AMBut, is Windows 8 a very complicated OS?