FORTRAN
0 (0%)
Cobol
1 (4.2%)
Scheme
1 (4.2%)

Total Members Voted: 23

wm.annis

I'm sure I've omitted some from the list, but I think these are the biggies.

bommel

Definitely C/C++ (I've chosen C++) followd by C# and Java.

wm.annis

Quote from: bommel on July 11, 2010, 06:59:36 AM
Definitely C/C++ (I've chosen C++) followd by C# and Java.

It has always puzzled me how people write "C/C++" — they're such different languages.  C++ may just sit on top of C, but good C++ looks very little like good C if you step back a bit and aren't just looking at a single line of code.

It's a shame the polling system doesn't allow us to pick a few answers.  I'm most fond of Common Lisp — I've even written code it in other people use — but my day to day coding for work will be in Python, or more rarely C (I'm a Unix sysadmin).  I used to be a huge Perl user, but one day I took a look at something I was writing in Perl, realized it was disgusting and could not be made undisgusting, and thought, "there has to be a better way."  I switched to Python and haven't looked back.

bommel

Quote from: wm.annis on July 11, 2010, 07:08:48 AM
It has always puzzled me how people write "C/C++" — they're such different languages.  C++ may just sit on top of C, but good C++ looks very little like good C if you step back a bit and aren't just looking at a single line of code.
I just meant I can't decide between C and C++ because I like both (and work with both) ;)

Muzer

[21:42:56] <@Muzer> Apple products used to be good, if expensive
[21:42:59] <@Muzer> now they are just expensive

wm.annis

Quote from: Muzer on July 11, 2010, 07:54:31 AM
You missed bash.

I'm sure I missed several.  On the other hand, though I use bash daily, I'm not sure I'd want to program anything very large in it.  Shells really are domain-specific languages, and I was aiming for something broader.

Muzer

Ah, I see.