The DOOM Generation

Started by guest2859, May 14, 2011, 05:05:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guest2859

(Usually Doom 1-3, Hexen 1-2, Heretic, etc...)

Well, Doom is the classic that features 2d characters in a 3d world. Another neat fact is that you can build these games with this program. It's really neat, and I would love to see other people get into this game and designing capability. So, anyone have any wads (game files) they have made, have, or will make?

'Itan Atxur

I love Doom 1 and 2 (I just like Doom 3). I remember trying a Doom editor once but didn't like it. Not sure if it was Doom Builder. I'll have to give it a shot because I love creating maps.

Check out more from my DeviantArt page HERE

Swoka Ikran

I've been developing maps for the Doom engine since 2005 :) IMO, the Doom engine is probably one of the easiest game engines to learn. I'm using the Doom Legacy engine (because it has much better graphics, 3D platform support, and scripting capabilities), and DoomBuilder 1.6.

I'd share my levels, but they're all made for an old, cartoony total conversion known as Chex Quest since that was what I had handy when I started learning to build maps. For some reason, I just never switched to Doom ??? If anyone wants screenshots or the actual levels, I'll post them.

What's really cool though is the fact that the graphics have gotten so much better over the years. The graphics and effects in today's modern engines blow the socks off the stock stuff made by id software.
2010 was the year of the Na'vi.Vivar 'ivong Na'vi!

Avatray | NWOTD Sigbars | Sacred's Sigbar Tool | My collection of Avatar merchandise

guest2859