IMAX not screening Avatar re-release

Started by Tsyeymzi, May 04, 2010, 12:51:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Niwantaw

[/headdesk] [/headdesk] [/headdesk]

that is what he/she is finding out
Only mostly AWOL.

Na'vi Kxanìa Taronyu

Well, why can't IMAX projection systems go digital?  That way instead of film, it would also make it easier for longer movies to be shown. :-\
I am a Video Producer, Webpage Designer, Na'Vi enthusiast, BMW fanatic, and a Mac OS X Server Certified Server Administrator.

I am The People's Forbidden Hunter
Oel ngati kameie!

I don't know where to turn, as my future is clouded.  The future is a haze, as my path is unclear.  Will my loyalty stick with my Terran race, or will it stick with the Na'vi?

omängum fra'uti

Because digital imax isn't as good as the real thing.
Ftxey lu nga tokx ftxey lu nga tirea? Lu oe tìkeftxo.
Listen to my Na'vi Lessons podcast!

Tsyeymzi

Quote from: Tawtute akawng on May 05, 2010, 02:05:34 PM

that is what he/she is finding out

Errrr... "He", at least, I'm a "he" last time I checked.

Quote from: omängum fra'uti on May 05, 2010, 11:11:08 PM
Because digital imax isn't as good as the real thing.

We've got a digital IMAX here, silly little pretender to the throne. The quality is noticeably different, it looks more like upscaled cinema than anything full quality. Not to mention that the "real deal" is A LOT bigger.
- The Signature is a Lie -

Tsa'räni

As far as we all knew, from interviews with the Avatar people I think, the extended version was only getting 6 or so additional minutes so that it could still be released in IMAX.  Now, I'm not try to contradict your source - but one side that should know what is going on obviously does not.  It's hard to imagine an IMAX theater goofing that simple bit of information up, but it's equally hard to imagine the Avatar people messing this up, considering they were specifically aiming for an IMAX release.

Kätsyín te Zotxekay Tsyal’itan