Kaltxi

Started by Valkyr, June 09, 2014, 08:34:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valkyr

Greetings to the people. I see you. Please I'm fairly new to learning the language. I have played with the idea of learning for some time now. I'd like to have friends I could learn from using TS3 client or skype. Thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully to all my future friends that would/will be willing to help me!  :P

Kame Ayyo’koti

Kaltxì ma Valkyr! Zola'u nìprrte'!  :)

I haven't gotten into Skyping yet, but I know some people here have done it. In the meantime, if you want to listen to some spoken Na'vi, Karyu Pawl posts audio samples on his blog here: Na'viteri

Once the sequels come out, there'll probably be a lot more people around, and I'm sure you'll be able to find someone to chat with then. :)
"Your work is to discover your world, and then with all your heart give yourself to it."

Valkyr

Well I'll take all the help I can get either audio or text doesn't matter to me. I'd lik to get the written language down too lol

Kame Ayyo’koti

There's definitely a lot more written material than audio/video! ;D A great place to begin is by reading stuff in the Beginner's section, especially this thread.

I just remembered, Karyu Pawl has done some video lessons. I haven't watched them, but they might be a good place to start. See his posts here and here.

As for practicing the language, there's lots of things you can do (have a look through the learning materials section). I would suggest the following:

• Download some spoken Na'vi audio and play it in the background, whether you listen to it or not. Just hearing it will help you more than you think!
  • For learning vocab and grammar, I've been experimenting to see what works for me. I've found these flash cards to be most helpful. You could also try regular vocab cards.