Seed of Language (vocabulary training software)

Started by Hufwe Atxur, September 03, 2010, 07:19:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Swoka Ikran

Quote from: Hufwe Atxur on January 23, 2011, 12:57:30 PM
Yes, the bugfix for this was released on Dec 24th. At least on my machine it's working fine.
Updated from 1.9->1.9.1...now it sort of works. The lesson downloader still fails to load the list pretty often, but it'll eventually work if I restart the app enough times. :-\

Also, just a tip: I'd recommend you edit your first post with the latest version info and website. I completely missed the 1.9.1 update and new website until a little while ago.
2010 was the year of the Na'vi.Vivar 'ivong Na'vi!

Avatray | NWOTD Sigbars | Sacred's Sigbar Tool | My collection of Avatar merchandise

Hufwe Atxur

It has been a long time since I last developed SoL .. however, yesterday I started programming version 2.0.0.0 in C# - these are the most important changings (so far):

- New INI-file like lesson format (very(!) fast and easy to read)
- New layout
- A new version-system (e.g.: 2.0.0.0 = Very Important version . Important Version . Small new features . Bugfix)
- Faster lesson-downloader
- etc..

The lesson-format-parser was programmed yesterday by me - in future every lesson has the SOLF-format (think about what this could mean .. ;)). This format is quite simple and can be processed faster than an XML-file by the computer. A lesson could look like this:
Name=Sample lesson with a very long name
Description=
Slides=2

Q1=Question 1
A1_1=Answer 1
A1_2=Answer 2
A1_3=Answer 3

Q2=Kaltxì
A2_1=Hello
A2_2=How are you?
A2_3=Friend

Alas I have to announce one sad fact - old XML-files can't be processed. Perhaps I'll write a conversion tool, but due to the fact that there were mistakes in several old lessons, I'd first have to update those - I don't know when I'll have the time to.