is anyone interested in learning an "exotic" language?

Started by Mech, July 26, 2018, 03:45:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mech

Duolingo had been in pthe rocess of developing a Hawaiian course (yey!). To my happiness and surprise it got out too soon (in Beta).

I noticed that the course consists of very few lessons, 10 or so. I don't know what it means. Are they going to expand it with time?

Also, Navajo courses are published in Beta, and also with very few lessons (for the record, I don't like how Navajo sounds although I like other NA languages)

In any case I haven't seen such thing about the other languages I studied earlier so, if there isn't a mistake, perhaps they changed their policy somehow: I guess they publish their Betas sooner so as to receive more and eariler feedback? Sounds good.

Toliman

Hmm ... it sounds interesting.

I will see it.

Quote from: Mech on October 15, 2018, 09:26:26 AM
I guess they pubish ther Betas sooner so as to receive more and eariler feedback? Sounds good.
Yeah, sounds good.

Toliman

Kxanay

Toliman

Yeah, it looks really interesting :)
Are you interested in these languages too?

Mech

I am sorry to admit that this languge doesn't ring well to my ear, not as much as the other exotic languages I consider "beautiful" :/

Have fun those who pursue to studyit :)

Toliman

Marshallese language ring well to my ear. However I too can say that other exotic languages (Polynesian languages, which interested me - Hawaiian, Maorian, Tahitian...) really are a bit more beautiful.

Also languages of Caroline Islands at Micronesia (Satawalese, Woleaian, Trukese...) ring well to my ear, and there is relative similarity with Marshallese :)

Toliman

Mech

I found this course on ancient egyptian. Unlike other websites and books I've seen around, this one concentrates not on how to decipher hieroglyphic inscriptions but how to write on paper. They also try to show how the words are supposed to be pronounced.