anybody studying/studied Sanskrit?

Started by Kì'eyawn, September 20, 2010, 01:04:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kì'eyawn

If i could learn any human language, i would love to learn Sanskrit.  They had it at the school where i did my bachelor's degree, and now i'm kicking myself that i didn't take it when i had the chance.  Now i'm doing my master's at a school with a terribly impoverished foreign language program—and i'm graduating in December, anyway.  I'm applying for another master's program, but i've not looked if the schools i'm applying to have Sanskrit.  And, even if they did, i don't know that i'll have time for it, as the programs i'm looking at are only a year long, and promise to keep me pretty busy.  I'd like to do some sort of do-it-yourself thing, but everything i've come across has gotten very mixed reviews.

So, anybody here tried their hand at Sanskrit?  Got any advice?
eo Eywa oe 'ia

Fra'uri tìyawnur oe täpivìng nìwotx...

wm.annis

Lo, those many years ago, I did take a few years of Sanskrit, with this guy, which meant I read more Hindu law texts in Sanskrit than I had planned on.

There are for the beginner and especially the autodidact a number of hurdles to overcome to study this language.  They are not insurmountable by any means, but we might as well be honest about them from the start.

First, Sanskrit is hard.  I think ancient Greek is a reasonably straightforward language, and Latin a breeze.  Sanskrit is not.  It's not as bad as, say, Navajo or Old Irish — *shudder* — but there's a lot of grammar to learn.

Second, most instructional material assumes you have an instructor (ignore the Teach Yourself Sanskrit book which is written for linguistic geniuses).