NotW #16: wm.annis

Started by wm.annis, August 01, 2010, 07:44:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wm.annis

Plumps hasn't closed down his thread yet, but since it is now after 0:00 UTC, I thought I'd get this in place.

Quote from: Question #1Who are you?
Many howdies!  I'm William, or "Will" if you want to ditch one syllable.  By day I'm a Unix sysadmin (i.e., professional computer geek), by night I turn into a crazed amateur linguist.  I currently live in beautiful Madison, WI, USA, but I've lived in Minnesota, Texas and California at various times in my life.  When I went to college I started out majoring in Chinese (focus on classical), but after many twisty paths, I ended up with a Bachelor of Science in psychology, a long and not very interesting story I won't go into here.

Quote from: Question #2Why are you here?
It's possible I'm the only person who saw Avatar just to hear an invented language in action.  I'd certainly heard about the film, but wasn't especially interested.  When the marketing carpet-bombing started and I saw some interviews with Frommer, Avatar suddenly had my attention.  I did a little work on the early versions of the Wikipedia article, and was following Na'vi language stuff all over the net.  When Fish created this forum, I joined fairly quickly.

For me, the great thing about the Na'vi language is that it has gotten all sorts of people who hated their school foreign language requirements really interested in language.  I'm happy to encourage such behavior.  :)

Quote from: Question #3Where do your alias and profile pic come from?
Well, I don't have an alias, just a shortened version of my real name.  Except in online games, where a little fun is in order, I live my online life attached to the rest of my life.