Tense/aspect usage nìNa’vi

Started by Kame Ayyo’koti, June 06, 2014, 03:33:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kame Ayyo’koti

Right now I'm studying Na'vi's use of verb tense/aspect. I'm putting this post in this section because the tense/aspects are infixes, although it's not about the infixes themselves, necessarily.

Something I have noticed is that Pawl seems to use the general perfective <ol> as the "past tense" for Na'vi, although it is not actually past tense (which is <am>). For example:

Fori mawkrra fa renten ioi säpoli holum.

The English translation of this is:
After they put on their goggles, they left.

According to Na'vi in a Nutshell, <ol> actually means (nì'Ìnglìsì): have verbed. According to this, the more accurate translation would be:

After they have put on their goggles, they have left.

That sounds odd, and that isn't something we would say in English.

I understand that Na'vi is NOT English, and it does not work like English. I just want to confirm that my understanding is correct:

Where we would usually use past tense ("they left"), should we use <ol> nìNa'vi? The grammarbook says this about Na'vi and verb tense/aspect:
Quote§6.7.3. Aspect. In general, Na'vi marks aspect more than it marks tense.
If this is true, than I can understand that they would use <ol> instead of <am>.

This also has me wondering about what tenses/aspects should be used in what contexts. For the above example, would I use <ol> if I were speaking to someone? («Tok fol pesengit, ma Kameyo?», «Fori mawkrra fa renten säpoli holum.»)