Computational linguistics & Na'vi

Started by Our Lady of Toast, January 18, 2010, 07:18:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Our Lady of Toast

I know "computers" and "Na'vi" seem like a strange match, but bear with me here.   ;)

I'm doing my PhD in linguistics, and work with (and write!) a lot of code for dealing with language.  Right now I'm putting together a parser - basically, a program that checks that Na'vi sentences are grammatical (based on the rules we know).  Parsers can also be used as parts of larger systems, such as translation programs or chatbots; I'm hoping to end up with something other people in the community could enjoy.

Is anyone else here working on a similar project?  (If you are, btw, I'm using the SFST package for morphological parsing, and will probably use NLTK for the rest ... since those are the tools that'll be used by the class I'm TAing this semester.)

suomichris

Sounds like a cool project!  I imagine it will be hard to deal with infixes using a parser like that, but then again, I know next to nothing about natural language processing.... ;)

Na'rìng

I thought out how I would program the parser, but my right after I thought that I then thought: it is better to be relatively fluent in the Na'Vi language first before I write up the program.

Although an error-correction system would be nice for Open Office! I can imagine my teachers response when I hand in an essay written in Na'Vi... That would be priceless! And 100% grammically correct, too!

That's my two cents :P.
Eywa ngahu ma smukan.
Eywa'evengä yawne lu oeru.

It kraon. XD!!! (Speak it the Na'vi way)

dcb