Making a Long Bow (Hunting Bow)

Started by Wokan, January 01, 2014, 07:54:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wokan

So, I was watching Avatar the other day and just thought to myself that having a bow and arrow would be cool. I looked online for some and came to the quick realization that they cost money (which I don't have much of). I decided then that I would just make my own. After many hours watching Youtube videos I set out on my journey.....
This is my first attempt ( but certainly not my last!) at this so I don't suspect it to turn out very well.

Approximate time invested : 5.5 hours
Approximate money invested : 0
Frustration meter : [===  12%                      ]

Tìtstewan

Nice! Two years ago I also tryed to make a bow, but I failed because bad wood structure...

-| Na'vi Vocab + Audio | Na'viteri as one HTML file | FAQ | Useful Links for Beginners |-
-| Kem si fu kem rä'ä si, ke lu tìfmi. |-

Taronyu Leleioae

Wokan,

What type of wood did you use?
Bottom picture looks a little like Red Oak.

Wokan

Quote from: Taronyu Leleioae on January 02, 2014, 09:22:10 AM
Wokan,

What type of wood did you use?
Bottom picture looks a little like Red Oak.

I do believe it is Red Oak

Wokan

UPDATE

Trying to fix the awkward curve at one end I began the process of heating the bow and bending it. I managed to fix it a little but this ended up happening...

Approximate time invested : 7 hours
Approximate money invested : 0
Frustration meter : [============  95%]

Tìtstewan

That's happened me too.... :(

I hope you can fix it.

-| Na'vi Vocab + Audio | Na'viteri as one HTML file | FAQ | Useful Links for Beginners |-
-| Kem si fu kem rä'ä si, ke lu tìfmi. |-

Wokan

Sadly, I cannot fix it. It is already too thin to be whittled down on that spot. But I strung it and it seems to be holding up.

archaic

You need to use steam to curve wood, dry heat drys wood out, and dry wood becomes brittle.