Picture Dictionary

Started by Tìng Eywatikìte'e, January 02, 2010, 04:46:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tìng Eywatikìte'e

I'm not really an artist, but I found drawing pictures helps me remember words a lot quicker than if I was just memorizing straight from a dictionary. Under the same theory that Rosetta Stone uses it's a lot better to try and learn a language through direct association rather through translation.

I'll be sure to put some of my pictures up on the sight once I finish them, but it would be much better if one of the artists on the sites worked on their own version. Maybe the same person we get for our version of Rosetta Stone.
Oeri lu Eywayä 'eveng

Maweya tirea

that is a very good idea.  :)
God síltsan lu!!!!!

Tìng Eywatikìte'e

Ugh, this is reminding me of how horrible of an artist I really am...Just trying to draw a drum to illustrate 'ekong (beat) is a crap load of effort and looks like crap...
Oeri lu Eywayä 'eveng

Maweya tirea

maybe you don't have to draw it. You can find a picture online and use that or just try to copy the picture as best as you can.  8)
God síltsan lu!!!!!

Tìng Eywatikìte'e

Yeah but it's the actual act of drawing that really drills the word in, the entire time I think 'ekong, 'ekong, 'ekong. It really makes it stick.
Oeri lu Eywayä 'eveng

Maweya tirea

God síltsan lu!!!!!

Tìng Eywatikìte'e

Yeah I suggest trying it out yourself! Even just little doodles that remind you of the word make a big difference.
Oeri lu Eywayä 'eveng

Maweya tirea

I will definitely try it out. Irayo! :)
God síltsan lu!!!!!

Tìng Eywatikìte'e

The difficult part comes with the more abstract words and the smaller words like we, they ect.
Oeri lu Eywayä 'eveng

Maweya tirea

Hmmm.....You could draw a group of stick figures with one saying we. I don't know. Do you have anything better in mind?
God síltsan lu!!!!!

Tìng Eywatikìte'e