Translator @ReactOS looking for 5-10 Na'vi translators, anybody interested?

Started by Wakoyantanke, November 29, 2011, 08:54:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wakoyantanke

Hi!

I am Wakoyantanke and I'm a rookie translator for the open source project ReactOS.  Which is an operating system clone of Windows NT just like Linux once began as a clone of UNIX a long time ago.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReactOS

I am interested in translating the ReactOS operating system into Na'vi.
The thing is that it is really easy being the first translator because then you could just "google translate" things like crazy and without judgement and without anybody else around that can object to what you do especially when it comes to minority languages.

Then when the second translator comes by and try to proofread things they will have a much harder time.  The process will take at least 3 times as long.  Since they will have to decrypt the fantasy language into English and then investigate if it's properly translated into Na'vi.  You get the point!

Doing it right from day one
So I thought if I want to translate a fantasy language that is considered a minority compared to other countries.  Then I need at least 5-10 Na'vi translators who should approve the translations from day one before it is programmed into the operating system.
Thus making things easier for any translator that comes after me in the ReactOS project.  Because then they will know that at least 5-10 people has proofread every file that has been translated.

So anybody interested in helping me?

(I'll deal with the technical and bureaucratic stuff, and you just deal with the linguistic stuff.)

Tirea Aean

Hello there!

Well, that sounds awesome! Actually we have a person or two talking about translating Ubuntu into na'vi.