My first attempt

Started by Jairo, February 14, 2010, 01:51:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jairo

Hi, this is my first attempt to translate a text into Na'vi (and use the trilinear gloss). Could you help me to check it?

Oel frakrr nerueime. Txo oeri pivllt'e lì'uti akeeyawr, ayngal eyawr ivseii.
Oe-l frakrr n<er>u<ei>me. Txo oe-ri p<iv>llt'e lì'u-ti a-ke-eyawr, ay+nga-l eyawr <iv>s<ei>i.
I-ERG always learn<IPFV><LAU>. If I-TOP speak<SJV> word-ACC ATTR-NEG-correct, PL-you-ERG correct-VERBZ<SJV><LAU>.
"I'm always learning. If I write something wrong, please correct me."

Irayo!
I'm always learning. If I write something wrong in any language, please correct me.

Plumps

Ma Jairo,

I'll try but don't take my word for it being correct entirely ;)

First off, I'm not sure about the intransitive/transitive issue here. If you say "I'm learning somthing" then that would be transitive but since you state a fact here without saying what you learn, I don't know if you still need the ERG-marker...
Also not sure if it makes sense to use the imperfective aspect together with "always"...

The infix positions for nume are n<er>um<ei>e
"speak" has the ejective tx, not the glottal stop t' => plltxe
"wrong" (whether it's rightly translated from one of Karyu Pawl's mails) is keyawr (so the thought was good but one e has to go ;) )
I'm not sure whether you can combine an adjective with si (that is, if eyawr is an adjective...) but you can make a noun out of it and combine it with tìng (give)
Even if you would take si you have to remember that it counts as an intransitive verb and with the laudative infix it becomes seiyi (I'm not sure what it will become with an additional -iv- infix...)

I'd say:
Oe nerumeie frakrr. Txo oeri pivlltxe lì'ut(i) akeyawr, tìng tìeyawr oeru, rutxe.
I learn<IMPF><LAUD> always. if I-TOP speak<SJV> word-ACC ADJ-wrong, give NMLZ-correct I-DAT, please.
I'm always learning. If I speak a wrong word, please correct me (give a correction to me).