Na'vi expressions and idioms

Started by omängum fra'uti, February 01, 2010, 08:30:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tawtirea

Oe si irayo ngaru. It was a good idea to make a topic like this one. As a beginner I found this to help me out a lot. I'll keep looking back on this page for guidance.

Ataeghane

Quote from: Plumps on December 28, 2010, 03:32:27 PM
How about Frommer's

Srake fnan ngal lì'fyati leNa'vi?
    "How good is your Na'vi?" (lit. Are you good at the Na'vi language?)

Irayo! That's what I needed. Where do take quotations like this from?
BTW, what is Grace's first Na'vi line told to Norm? Isn't it question similar to this one?

Oer wivìntxu ngal oey keyeyt krr a tse'a sat. Frakrr.

Plumps

Quote from: Ataeghane on December 29, 2010, 06:02:21 AM
Quote from: Plumps on December 28, 2010, 03:32:27 PM
How about Frommer's

Srake fnan ngal lì'fyati leNa'vi?
    "How good is your Na'vi?" (lit. Are you good at the Na'vi language?)

Irayo! That's what I needed. Where do take quotations like this from?
BTW, what is Grace's first Na'vi line told to Norm? Isn't it question similar to this one?
That's from Frommer's blog Naviteri.org, the 'Getting to know you'-sections from late September.
Yes, Grace asks that question, but in English and Norm answers in Na'vi...

Ataeghane

Ha, again. Point for you. Irayo nìmun.

unìl mäkto

Pxipxúntil

If I understand it good, phrase Txon lefpóm. is used for greetings, when the people meets. And when I wish good night to person who goes sleep, how can I say that? There is some idiom for that or not yet.

Is possible to say: Hiváheiaw nìmwéy. (something like "I wish you sleep peacefully.") ??
Srekrr tsatskxétsyìp tolúl tsáwla ayskxéä tìzusúpit...

Plumps

Yes, Hivahaw nìmwey was given out by Frommer as being "good night" in the sense of "sleep well"
I don't think the ei is necessary here.

'Oma Tirea

On a related note, another phrase could be Ayunil akalin (ngaru liveiu).